Welcome 2016 (leap year)

Welcome 2016

Today’s configuration: Leica M(240) with a Summicron 50mm lens

December has been a month of self reflection for me.  I have made quite a few changes with my photography journey the last 12 months  

The first change was to give up Facebook.  I deleted the app from my phone a few months ago for a month and didn’t miss a thing.  I noticed that my feed contained about 80% garbage and 20% worthwhile stuff.  I decided that it’s not worth it for me to wade through the 80% garbage to get to the good stuff.  I don’t have time for that anymore.  

The second thing I did was I made a major investment in film photography.  My first purchase was a medium format Yashica Mat 124G TLR in mint condition.  I love medium format film and this move made sense for me.  I love using a TLR, it slows me down and makes me think about what I’m doing.  I also purchased a another Leica camera.  This time a Leia M6 TTL in mint condition.  It was manufactured in 2001 and is a beautiful camera.  I’ve shot a few rolls through it and I’m still getting used to it but I have to say it’s a beautiful camera. 

The third thing I’m curently working on is selling off all my Canon gear, all of it.  It sits on my shelf collecting dust and doesn’t make sense for me to keep.  I’m also selling all my other gear that I no longer use.  I recently sold my Sony RX100 MII, it was a beautiful camera but wasn’t used enough to justify keeping it.  

Who knows what will happen this year.  I want to spend less time online and more quality time with my family.

-thanks for stopping by

One thought on “Welcome 2016 (leap year)

Comments are closed.